Houston’s Own Tony Wyllie to Be Inducted into 2017 National Black College Alumni Hall of Fame

On Friday, September 29, 2017, the National Black College Alumni Hall of Fame Foundation, Inc. will host its Annual Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony, and among this year’s stellar class of honorees is Houston’s own Tony Wyllie, who will be inducted in the category of Athletics.

The event, which takes place at 7 p.m. at the Hyatt Regency Atlanta in Atlanta, Georgia, promotes the viability of Historically Black Colleges & Universities (HBCUs) and highlights the accomplishments of their alumni. The Induction Ceremony is part of the Annual NBCA Hall of Fame Weekend. Each year graduates of HBCUs are inducted into the Hall of Fame for significant contributions they have made in their respective fields.

Wyllie received his degree in journalism from Texas Southern University (TSU), where he began his career in the Sports Information Department. He received an MBA from the Jones School of Business at Rice University. He worked as an adjunct professor at Texas Southern and as a professor at the Georgetown University Sports Industry Management. Currently, Wyllie is entering his eighth season as Senior Vice President of Communications for the Washington Redskins, in the midst of his third decade of NFL service as a decorated communications professional. He is the youngest Public Relations Director in the NFL and earned the Pete Rozelle Award for the Best Public Relations Staff for a record five times, and is the only executive in the NFL to win this award with three different teams (Los Angeles/St. Louis Rams, Tennessee Titans and Houston Texans).

In addition to that impressive resume, Wyllie has worked for the Houston Oilers, San Diego Chargers and Dallas Cowboys, and has also worked on NFC Championship Games, Pro Bowls, eight Super Bowls and has helped promote 12 Pro Football Hall of Famers. Wyllie has volunteered on numerous boards, including the March of Dimes, and continues to volunteer his services to Texas Southern as needed.

The other stellar honorees joining Wyllie at the event to receive an award include:
Arts/Entertainment: Jonathan Slocumb, Oakwood University
Business/Industry: Mitchell Martin, CPA, MBA, North Carolina A&T State University
Civil Rights: Dr. Benjamin F. Chavis, Jr., Howard University
Community Service: Judge Penny Brown Reynolds, Interdenominational Theological Center
Education: Dr. Gary McGaha, Mississippi Valley State University
Faith/Theology: Rev. Dr. Lillie Jones (Posthumously), Bennett College
Government: The Honorable Joseph W. Hatchett, Florida A&M University
Law: Justice Henry E. Frye, North Carolina A&T State University
Medicine: Valerie Montgomery Rice, M.D., Morehouse School of Medicine
Science: Dr. Eugene M. DeLoatch, Tougaloo College
Lifetime Achievement: Dr. Edith A. Calhoun, Talladega College
Lifetime Achievement: Atty. Patricia Russell-McCloud, Kentucky State University
Lifetime Achievement: Deborah Scott Thomas, Alabama State University
Chairman’s Award: Hamilton Bohannon, Clark Atlanta University

The mission of the NBCA Hall of Fame Foundation is to serve as a catalyst and partner for ensuring the stability, strength and excellence of the nation’s Historically Black Colleges and Universities. For more details on how to purchase tickets for the 2017 NBCA Hall of Fame Weekend and information on the programs and initiatives of the Foundation, please visit the website at www.nbcahof.com.