This Week in Houston’s Buzz: NAACP Houston Branch 99th Annual Freedom Fund Advocacy & Awards Gala

                  Congresswoman Sheila Jackson Lee and Dr. Elwyn Lee

The NAACP is the nation’s oldest and largest civil rights organization. It was founded in 1909, and today this organization continues to fight for social justice for all Americans. Looking at the state of economic inequality today, the NAACP Economic Department is committed to meeting these challenges through capacity building and training by units at conferences, building strong alliances with other organizations such as the National Urban League, advancing economic education that provides a racial economic analysis, strengthening economic resources for our constituents and ensuring they have access to the best financial information. The NAACP is actively involved in several advocacy and issues that are important to African Americans and people of color. There are nine advocacy and issues that the NAACP support including: Civic Engagement, Climate Justice Initiative, Economic Opportunity, Education, Federal Advocacy, Health Programs, Justice, Legal, and Media Diversity.

The Houston Branch of the NAACP remains committed to fighting for equal justice for all Americans. Recently, the NAACP Houston Branch honored individuals with prestigious awards for their extraordinary contributions to equal justice in the Houston area. The NAACP recently celebrated it’s 99th Annual Freedom Fund Awards Gala on Friday, October 27, 2017 at the Marriott Marquis Houston Hotel. Pastor Alan Patterson provided the invocation for the evening. Houston Mayor Sylvester Turner received the 2017 Mickey Leland Humanitarian Award. Special honoree also included Lady Emma Primus (Centennial Oldest Member Award). Thanks NAACP for a wonderful evening. To learn more about the NAACP and how you can get involved, please visit their website

                                         Samica Knight and Chauncy Glover

                     Willie Belle Boone, Geneva Williams and Jesse Boone

                             Gene Wu, Miya Shay-Wu and Tyrone Willis

                                        Sherrell Demas and Reginald Lillie II

                                Vince Ryan and State Rep. Ron Reynolds

                                               Tanya and James Douglas